cover image

King of Spades

Frederick Manfred

Publisher: University of Nebraska Press
Imprint: Bison Books
Published: 10/2014
Pages: 328
Subject: Fiction
eBook ISBN: 9780803284265


Under the veil of one of the oldest and most tragic myths known to humankind, a king is born. Magnus King, the son of a well-born English woman, continues his family’s aristocratic legacy on the frontier of the American West until the night a deadly shooting changes everything. Young Earl Ransom, a man found long ago on the Cheyenne prairie with no memory of his past or of how his destiny is linked to that of Magnus King, finds his way through a tale as old and tragic as the Greek myth of Oedipus. King of Spades is the final volume of Frederick Manfred’s acclaimed five-volume series, The Buckskin Man Tales. For this Bison Books Classic edition, Joel Johnson provides a new introduction.    


Frederick Manfred (1912–94) is the author of twenty-four novels, including the five-volume series The Buckskin Man Tales, which includes Lord Grizzly (finalist for the 1954 National Book Award), Riders of Judgment, Conquering Horse, and Scarlet Plume, all available in Bison Books editions.   Joel Johnson is an associate professor in the Department of Government and International Affairs at Augustana College.